Sohelee Tahmina

My Under-Water World

I always had this nag of growing a very natural under-water world or in general terms- a beautiful aquarium with not just fish, but also other elements like Bog-wood, Drift-wood etc. that make it look alive and natural. So, here are few pictures (don’t have all the fish or plants here yet) of my husband’s and my efforts to make yet another common dream come true:

My Under-Water World- Sohelee

My Under-Water World- Sohelee

Well, we started with a very low budget and I am not ashamed of that. We couldn’t afford much substrate to fill the entire tank and went for sand, rocks etc. I believe, I need to know things in details first and then, make it large. Anyways, so we gathered whatever were possible within our limits and turned our basic water-tanks with fish into a real world under the water.

Angel- My Under-Water World- Sohelee

Angel- My Under-Water World- Sohelee

We owned a basic aquarium since 2009 which contained fish with few artificial plants and decorative pieces. We have recently entered into the whole new world of aquascaping and I must say, it’s divine! Although, We have been learning about it since last one year or so, but it took us some time to start our own one. We have tested with few small tanks in order to make sure, we’re not going to kill or harm any of those fish and when we’re confident enough, we started it. Yet, there are mistakes 😛 and we’re still learning through experimenting; but, at least, we know quite a lot now 🙂 .

Gourami- My Under-Water World- Sohelee

Gourami- My Under-Water World- Sohelee

Gourami- My Under-Water World- Sohelee

Gourami- My Under-Water World- Sohelee

Gourami- My Under-Water World- Sohelee

Gourami- My Under-Water World- Sohelee

Initially, my freshwater tank contained various types of fish like Angel, Gourami, Danio, Guppy, Phantom, Gold Fish, Silver Shark, Betta and snails. But when I planted few under-water plants, things were disastrous- the fish as well as the snails ruined my under-water garden 😦 which contains Anubias Nana, Oriental Sword, Star Grass, Amazon Sword, Rotala Rotundifolia, Ambulia, Cabomba Caroliniana, Bocopa Caroliniana.

My Under-Water World- Sohelee

My Under-Water World- Sohelee

So, I separated few dangerous members for the plants, based on some online research and advice from other local aquarists; not-to-mention, had to re-plant tens of times!

And, here is my current tank. Let me know, if you like it. I will post on the progress later as we are still experimenting with options like soil, gravel, liquid fertilizer, iron supplement etc. and purchasing as well as exchanging plants & fish. Till then,

xoxo

– your fashionista next door,

sohelee

This entry was published on July 19, 2014 at 4:33 pm. It’s filed under Life Around Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

